Newton County's Mass Notification
System:  Swift 9-1-1

Newton County is pleased to announce the launch of the Swift 9-1-1 service, our new county/town-to-resident notification system. With this service, county and city leaders can send personalized voice messages to residents and businesses within minutes with specific information about time-sensitive or common-interest issues such as emergencies and local community matters. The Swift 9-1-1 service will be used to supplement our current communication plans and augment public safety/first responder services.

Please accept our invitation to participate in this great service. We know that your personal information is important, and rest assured that we will not share it with anyone. If you have NOT already received a test phone call from us, or you would like to provide additional contact information, click the link below to sign up.

Sign up now to get Newton County's Swift 9-1-1.



Text SWIFT911 to 99538

March 2016 Flood Documents

Declaring a Local State of Disaster
Continued - August 1, 2016

Declaring a Local State of Disaster
Continued - May 10, 2016

Evacuation Order Lifted
March 20, 2016

Presidential Declaration
Federal Assistance
March 19, 2016

Governors' Federal Disaster Declaration Request
March 18, 2016

Declaring a Local State of Disaster
Continued - March 14, 2016

Governors' State
Declaration of Disaster
March 14, 2016

Mandatory Evacuation Order
March 12, 2016

Declaring a Local State of Disaster
March 10, 2016

Texas Counties Deliver

Burn Ban has been lifted.


COVID19 Vaccine Fact Sheet

Emergency Coordinators

Emergency Management Director

Judge Ronald Cochran
Phone: 409-379-5691
Cell: 409-384-0722

E-Mail Address:  newtoncountyjudge@co.newton.tx.us

Emergency Disasters Call:     

Jon Clingaman
Texas Division of Emergency Management
District Coordinator, Sub 2B                 
Cell:  409-208-3270
Office: 936-699-7313

Email:  jon.clingaman@tdem.texas.gov

Texas Department of Public Safety                                                       
2809 S John Redditt 
, Texas 75904

Newton County Fire Departments

TO REPORT FIRE CALL: 409-379-3636 OR 911


Newton County Emergency Services District #1

President: Edger Bean 
P. O. Box 366
Deweyville, Texas  77614

Deweyville VFD -- Spur 272 behind Sub-Courthouse/Cary Street

Chief Mark McCall

Trout Creek
Newton County Emergency Services District #2

Fire Chief - Steve Coleman:  409-622-2776 

Assistant Chief - Justin Nichols:  409-622-1719

Sec/Tres - Howard West: 409-423-9065
Email:  howardwest@ymail.com

911 Address: 
17400 Hwy 87 South
Call, Texas 75933

Mailing Address:
2092 FM 829
Call, Texas 75933

Phone:  409-423-9065

Newton County Emergency Services District #3

Wilson White, President

P.O. Box 90
Burkeville, Texas 75932

Burkeville VFD
CR 2095, SH 63 East

Chief Charles Duckworth
Cell: 409-594-0323


Toledo Bend
Newton County Emergency Services District #4

President, Gil Nohavitza

255 Redbud Circle
Burkeville, Texas 75932
Phone: 409-565-4515

Charles Barnes

Robert Turkleson
Vice President

Ken Glenn
2nd Vice President

Edwin Stagg
Secretary, Treasurer

Phillip Nolan
Asst. Secretary/Treasurer

Alternates: J.L. McKinzey & Bob Wimberly

Franklin "Pete" Porter                      
Fire Chief

619-395-1987 Cell

Devils Pocket
Newton County Emergency Services District #5

241 CR 4115
Buna, Texas 77612

Phone: 409-289-9251

Lonnie Burkes
President, Fire Chief

Daniel Brockman
Vice President


Bon Wier VFD

P.O. Box 8
Bon Wier, Texas 75928

9567 E. State Highway 190
Phone: 409-397-4667

Jim Dubose
Fire Chief
Phone: 409-397-4506

Chief Ronnie Cockran

Phone: 379-3083

101 N. Street
Newton, Texas 75966

Newton County First Responders

Laura Spivey, President

Phone: 409-379-8355/ 409-379-4059

P.O. Box 1486
Newton, Texas 75966

Debris Removal Guidelines: